Business Continuity Certifications

In today’s unpredictable world, the ability to maintain operations during disruptions is crucial for any organization. This is where business continuity certifications come into play. They provide a structured approach to identifying potential threats, creating response plans, and ensuring that critical functions can continue during a crisis. Among these certifications, the ISO 22301 Business Continuity Management System (BCMS) stands out as a leading standard that can certify both organizations and individuals.

Importance of Business Continuity Certifications

Business continuity certifications are essential for several reasons:

  1. Preparedness: They ensure that an organization is well-prepared to handle unexpected events, minimizing downtime and financial losses.
  2. Credibility: Holding a certification can enhance an organization’s reputation, demonstrating a commitment to maintaining operations under adverse conditions.
  3. Compliance: Many industries and governments require compliance with certain standards, and certifications can help meet these requirements.
  4. Improvement: The certification process often highlights areas for improvement, enabling continuous enhancement of business continuity plans.

Key Business Continuity Certifications

Mike Kamau, Managing Director Certi-Trust together with Hilda Njeru, Sentinel Africa Consulting Head of Business Development & Marketing poses for a photo issuing the ISO 22301 BCMS Certificate to the Kenya Medical Reserch Institute(KEMRI’s) Business continuity team Leader Mahsen Abud

There are several recognized business continuity certifications available, each catering to different aspects of business continuity management. Here are some of the key certifications:

  1. ISO 22301 Business Continuity Management System (BCMS)
    Certification details: The ISO 22301 Certified Business Continuity Manager (CBCM) is a designation offered by PECB via Sentinel Africa as a training centre. The CBCM is based on the ISO 22301:2019 standard, which defines a framework for planning and operating a business continuity management system. This is discussed further in details beow.
  2. Certificate of the Business Continuity Institute (CBCI)
    Certification Details: The Certificate of the Business Continuity Institute (CBCI) is a professional course and certification provided by the Business Continuity Institute (BCI). Website: 
  3. Certified Business Continuity Professional (CBCP)
    Certification Details: The Certified Business Continuity Professional (CBCP) designation is provided by the Disaster Recovery Institute (DRI) International. This certification is designed for experienced professionals who have substantial practical experience in the field of business continuity.
  4. EC-Council Disaster Recovery Professional (EDRP)
    Certification Details: The EC-Council Disaster Recovery Professional (EDRP) certification is offered by EC-Council, an organization renowned for its Certified Ethical Hacker designation. The EDRP certification includes a comprehensive course that trains individuals in business continuity and recovery concepts and practices, including business impact analysis.
  5. Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer (CDRE)
    Certification Details: The Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer (CDRE) certification is offered by Mile2, a cybersecurity certification provider. This certification is especially beneficial for professionals in government settings, as it complies with the CNSSI-4016 directive on the National Information Assurance Training Standard for Risk Analysts and Risk Management established by the National Security Agency.
  6. Business Continuity and Resiliency Professional (BCRP)
    Certification details: The Business Continuity and Resiliency Professional certification is offered by the National Institute for Business Continuity Management.
  7.  Certified Business Resilience Manager
    Certification details: The Certified Business Resilience Manager (CBRM) is offered by the Business Resilience Certification Consortium International (BRCCI). The CBRM can be taken with or without training that is providing by BRCCI.

ISO 22301 Business Continuity Management System – Training Courses

What is ISO 22301?

ISO 22301, the international standard for business continuity management systems (BCMSs), is a comprehensive framework designed to enable organizations to effectively prepare for, respond to, and recover from unexpected incidents. By implementing a BCMS, organizations can detect and mitigate threats, as well as ensure uninterrupted operations. ISO 22301’s inclusive requirements are suitable for organizations of all types, sizes, and complexities, allowing them to adapt the standard to their unique operating environments. ISO 22301 is particularly advantageous for organizations seeking to ensure compliance with their business continuity policies, maintain service delivery during disruptions, and strengthen overall resilience through effective BCMS implementation. 

ISO 22301 serves both as a protective measure and an evaluative tool. It helps organizations assess their capability to meet specific business continuity needs and obligations, thus ensuring long-term operational stability. 

How do I get started with ISO 22301 certification/training?

Our training courses are designed to meet the needs of professionals in the field of business continuity. A PECB certification reflects safety, reliability, and exceptional quality. If you are eager to join a global network and elevate your expertise, our dedicated experts are here to assist you every step of the way. 

Contact us to begin with the first step

Certifying an Organization

ISO 22301 certification for organizations involves several steps:

  1. Gap Analysis: Assessing the current business continuity plan against ISO 22301 requirements.
  2. Implementation: Developing and implementing a BCMS based on the standard.
  3. Internal Audit: Conducting internal audits to ensure compliance and readiness.
  4. Certification Audit: Undergoing an audit by an accredited certification body to verify compliance.
  5. Continuous Improvement: Regularly updating and improving the BCMS to maintain certification.
Certifying an Individual

Individuals can also achieve certification in ISO 22301, enhancing their professional credentials and expertise in business continuity management. The process typically includes:

  1. Training: Completing a recognized ISO 22301 training course.
  2. Examination: Passing an exam to demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the standard.
  3. Certification: Obtaining certification from an accredited body, validating the individual’s proficiency in BCMS.


Business continuity certifications are vital for organizations and individuals striving to ensure resilience and readiness in the face of disruptions. Among these, the ISO 22301 BCMS stands out for its comprehensive approach to managing business continuity. Whether certifying an organization or an individual, ISO 22301 provides a robust framework to ensure that critical functions can continue during a crisis.

For expert guidance in designing and implementing your business continuity plan and achieving ISO 22301 certification, reach out to Sentinel Africa Consulting. Our team of experienced professionals is dedicated to helping you build a resilient and reliable business continuity framework.

No comments yet


Hello, Thank you for contacting Sentinel Africa. How may i assist you?

× WhatsApp